jump to navigation

Going to MI March 27, 2007

Posted by Michael McVey in General Comment.
trackback

emu   Today I made it official with the College of Education and announced to the Dean that I was going to accept the Letter of Offer from Eastern Michigan University‘s Department of Teacher Education. I had a great time visiting EMU a month ago, despite the cold and the one morning of “freezing fog.”

Those I had the pleasure of meeting at EMU were devoted to their field and concerned about the development of the students in their charge. I am looking forward to being part of their extended family.

I took some time to look around Saline and parts of Ann Arbor to get a sense of real estate prices. On the last day, the houses I looked at were all shrouded in fog and looked isolated and alone. However, earlier in the week, when it was sunny, the town looked like a happy and warm little place. Everywhere I looked I was reminded of growing up in my little town in Ontario.

My wife and daughter are excited about the impending move. There are some plusses. My wife can continue to work on forensic accounting thanks to FedEx. My daughter will get an extra long summer because schools start later in that state. Our whole family will get to experience turning leaves, rain, snow, wet and fragrant spring, and humid summer. I am looking forward to that. We will also be only a three hour drive from my parents, sisters, and nephews back in Ontario.

Now that I can speak more freely about the move to Michigan, I can begin to write more about the job and the technology challenges and successes that face teachers and schools in that state.

Comments»

1. Bethany - March 27, 2007

Dr. McVey! That is so exciting for you! I will miss you here in the AZ….but it’s not like I get to stop by and bug you very often, seeing as i *never* get to be on campus! I miss campus a little bit, but moving forward in the program is exciting too! Can’t wait to read updates!

2. Judi Moreillon - March 28, 2007

Bravo, Dr. McVey,
EMU has made a great choice – and the UA (and I) will feel your loss.
All the best to you and your family as you prepare to begin the next chapter in your lives!
A Fan

3. Steve Poling - April 5, 2007

I wish you and your family the best. I hope you continue this blog. Best of luck in your career.

4. Zs - April 8, 2007

Congratulations again!
I know you will be a great addition to EMU and since you feel it is a good match I am sure you will have fun also! :-)
On another thought also, it is always good to be closer to family and old friends.

We won’t be as far so I hope on your way up (at least) your family will stop for a rest :-)

Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

