jump to navigation

Pod Queue April 2, 2006

Posted by Michael McVey in Online Tools.
trackback

shakes   Not twenty-four hours after we published our first podcasts and there are already three queued up for production later in the week. The College of Education regularly hosts guests from around the world and their wonderful and insightful talks and lectures to students have been lost to the ages. We hope that podcasting a few of these will stem the migration of electrons.

We had a request from one group to summarize some of the talks or provide transcripts. Apparently, engaging transcription services is an expensive proposition. I created the notes for our first podcast in a way that allowed me to listen to the talk and take notes at the same time. Using voice to text software, I listened to the lecture and spoke a summarizing sentence and even some direct quotations while listening. I have a new appreciation for the skills required to be a simultaneous translator.

I think, quite sincerely, that listening to lectures after the fact, processing the highlights, and speaking aloud my interpretation of what was said is a very powerful tool for my own learning. I wonder how my grades would have fared if I had such tools during my undergraduate years.

Actually, I did have some parts of the tool set. Although I dearly enjoy Shakespeare, I find I get distracted reading the printed word. I miss the flow of the speaking and get caught up in the orthography, the spelling, and grammatical structures. Before I know it, I am re-reading the same speech and losing my way through the text. During my early university years at York University in Ontario, I would find my way to the audio collection, pop a cassette tape into the loaner tape recorders, and read the text while listening to it. The process made short work of the play, increased my understanding, and my active note taking throughout the text helped me to return to key sections for later discussion.

I wonder if a study on dysgraphic students using voice to text software would show greater recall of material if they could listen and speak their notes to a computer. As a reading strategy, restating has been around for several decades. I wonder if voice to text would enhance the strategy.

Comments»

1. Zs - April 2, 2006

You must have a pure auditory learning style :-)
For me a picture is worth a thousand words!
I like to see the picture, the chart, the schema, and have a design in my mind. I am very visual oriented learner. If I listen my mind will wander in daydreaming. I need to keep my eyes busy :)

I think most of those students who have reading disabilities, dislexia, are auditory learners, they develop another skill, hearing, to compensate what they cannot see correctly. And I am sure they would learn much easier if they could only listen (which are better in). When I was a tutor at SALT center they showed us some nice things in their computer lab. Did you ever go there? It is amazing what some softweare can do for students with different disabilities.


Leave a Reply

