jump to navigation

Thirty Years of Damage February 24, 2006

Posted by Michael McVey in Online Tools.
trackback

wrestle I came across a photograph of myself on the Markham District High School Wrestling Team around 1975. I was a third string wrestler, at best. In my weight class there was an All-Ontario champion and a Regional champion. It was my first year as a wrestler and my first time to learn how to stick to a training regimen.

The coach, a pro football player named Houston, told us all that if we stuck with the program we would all be the fittest we had ever been in our lives. He was right, of course. I ran, stretched, did calisthenics, and practiced moving every muscle in my body. It was great. I felt like I was floating through the day, until practice came.

What is really interesting about this image is that it was so faded when I first found it. Not only that, but it has a tear across the center, a gouge near my leg, and staple holes from when it was first stuck to the bulletin board next to the change room. How it did not get more mutilated, I’ll never know.

I scanned the image at 600 dots per inch (dpi) resolution and using Microsoft’s Photo Editor, I was able to smudge out the rips, and blur some of the holes into irrelevancy. I am sure there are some professionals who have even better tools for doing this job. If I had my choice and time, I would have electronically removed little pieces of the original image and pasted them over the damaged parts then smudged the joins.

In any event, I am quite happy with the results considering the horrible damage with which I began.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

