jump to navigation

Videoconferencing Takes Off February 23, 2006

Posted by Michael McVey in Online Tools.
trackback

ineen   There have been a number of developments recently in desktop videoconferencing. We have been using Breeze in the College, but lately I have been noticing a real degradation in quality of video and much more freezing of the conference. I use MSN Messenger for contacting my family, and I have recently been using Yahoo Messenger to communicate with friends as far away as Egypt and Angola. The video service is usually pretty crisp and not at all jerky. Apparently Skype is now doing video but I have not checked on it lately.

I still would like to try two new services: Ineen and Sightspeed. Ineen will allow multiple videoconferences and that is certainly a feature we could use in the college. Sightspeed has both free and subscription services. One of the benefits is that you can leave VideoMail in a mailbox. With the number of students learning American Sign Language in this college, I would think a Video Mailbox would be a great idea.

There are so many excellent services available. The one I would like to see now would be the one that can allow me to videoconference with anyone, regardless of the service they use. My goal for this summer’s Educational Leadership course that I am teaching is to run as many online conferences as possible to get students into the mode of working and collaborating online. We will have to see how that goes.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

