jump to navigation

Rollercoaster December 7, 2005

Posted by Michael McVey in General Comment.
trackback

Michael in Canada  Today was odd indeed. I expected to have a quiet morning installing new software. It was deadly quiet until 8 and then all heck broke loose with people coming in almost non-stop with issues. Even my wife called to have me listen to her car engine on the cell phone – dead battery.

The real reason why today was so loopy was because of e-mails I received from four people. The first was from an old friend whom I had not heard from for almost thirty years. He is married now, has two young children and is doing just great. I was really charged up by that news.

Then another note arrived to inform me that my 50 thousand dollar grant was not approved. The sound of carpet being pulled out from beneath your feet is the same sound that tells you it is time to re-tool your research agenda for next semester. The bad news was I did not get the grant but the good news was that now I don’t have to work on juggling a new grant into my life. However, I was looking forward to the chance to use StudioCode software to analyze teaching methods among pre-service teachers and get pre-certificated administrators able to more competently analyze teaching they are someday going to be asked to evaluate.

So after that little setback, my Eudora mail box plays the sound of O Canada signifying mail from my friends and family back home in Canada. Surprisingly, there was lengthy catch up message from another friend I had not heard from since 1976. She has four kids of university age and is happily working with the Ontario Provincial Police. Wow! Did I win a lottery back in Canada and didn’t know about it?

Seconds later my e-mail box chimes again. Sorry, we are passing on your latest manuscript on informal online learning environments. Better luck next time.

So, the moral of the story is that good news comes with the bad sometimes. Today I was honored to welcome two newly minted Ph.D.s into the academe but I also had to say farewell to four teachers from Nicaragua and Dominican Republic who were returning home tomorrow and feeling a little forlorn.

Comments»

1. Zs - December 8, 2005

I know this will not help you feel better about your big grant.
I applied for a little one of 8K and did not get it. Was very upset since when I got back the reviewers’ feedback I discovered sadly that they had no clue about what I am talking about, no clue about my experimental design, so the feedback sounded: “too technical, research design not clear”
Later another colleague who was kind and read it to let me know why I got the feedback and not get the funding, told me that people here like to have proposals very short and written in common language.

So, in January I will re-write the proposal in “desperate housewives” language and submit it one more time (unfortunately will be a smaller funding – but better than nothing).

I am kind of dissapointed… We will work till then from my budget :-( (remember Scott?) I do part here, he does other part at his UNM.
It’s a nice research, and I love working with small kids. It’s fun!
Not so when I am broke :-(

2. Michael McVey - December 9, 2005

It’s funny how we have to pick through the few comments we receive from reviewers to figure out why we were rejected. I am going to look closely at those that were accepted to figure out what the Arizona Board of Regents was looking for in a winning proposal.

3. Tracy Arnold - February 1, 2006

I don’t know much about funding but I know what it’s like to have a rollercoaster day! I absolutely HATE to be late to things and one day I swear I wasn’t on time to a single thing. My alarm didn’t go off for class so I missed it (8am), I got a flat tire on my way home from school which made me late getting to a meeting, then because the meeting ran late I was late to an interview and that was the most embarrassing. They treated me like I was an idiot. They were rude to me and when I tried to explain they cut me off. The good thing is that I ended up doing a great job at the interview and I got the job. Weird huh???


Leave a Reply

